Dawn

As the dawn of parenting approaches, I have been fiercely reminded, and somewhat plagued by all the things I put my own parents through. I’m sure being the upstanding citizen I am now, that this may come as a shock to many of you… But on the contrary, I have been made aware of the amazing grace God has shown me throughout my life. I know I grieved his heart for many years, but him knowing the outcome, had a slight advantage over my earthly parents. They had to endure, persevere, and perhaps pray harder than ever before in their lives . Which means God of coarse did use it for his glory, as he always does. He restored the years the locusts had eaten ten-fold. My relationship with my parents is blessed now, the hardest part is they still try and do serve me so much. It’s hard because I feel I owe, some sort of penance for all that I put them through, and yet, isn’t it that same way with God? We try to do things out of a sense of owing him for saving our lives? When in reality, we cannot ever pay him, or my parents back. We simply must accept, humbled, the gifts bestowed upon our undeserving souls. Live in gratitude. The type that moves you to act, but not to repay, simply to show you are aware and grateful.

I don’t believe in karma either, I don’t believe God is going to repay me for my sin through my children ( I am glad to be having boys just for the record though…) Because his word says:

” But you are He who took me out of the womb; you made me trust while on my mother’s breasts. I was cast upon you from birth. From my mother’s womb you have been my God. Be not far from me…” Ps 22:9-11

5 thoughts on “Dawn

  1. Hey Sally,

    You’ll have to fill me in sometime on your former life 🙂 I had no idea you were a handful!
    -Gina

  2. Sally, I like what you said about gratitude, “This type of gratitude moves you to act not repay.” And the part about karma; my hope is in a redeeming God, who has plans of peace and not of evil, to give us a hope and a future.
    I was just checking to see how you and the boys were doing and I got a morning devotional. I’m glad your being patient and all is well. I’m going to go read Ps. 139.

  3. Sally, I can only remember the joy you brought into my life and all the fun and laughing we have shared. You are and have always been one of my greatest Blessings.
    Love Dad

  4. Your confession is one of the most profound comparisons of God and our earthly parents I have ever heard/read. Really, Sally – I am not kidding – you have a true gift with words and I hope you continue to journal your feelings for these little boys their entire lives. It can be a written treasure for them.

    What you admitted to is how most of us feel about what we’ve put our parents through…Our past makes us better parents, I think (I hope!)

Leave a Reply

