You know you have twins when…

So I’ve had some of these twin moments in the past 8 weeks, some of the more memorable are:

You know you have twins when it’s 2 in the afternoon and you’re walking around the house wearing a stretched out “wife-beater” shirt that is inside out and backwards from having been put on in the dark in the middle of the night..

You know you have twins when you wake up at night hugging your body pillow and thinking it’s a baby. This has been even more interesting lately… Asher will come to bed a while after me and two nights in a row I have said “Be careful, I have the babies.” He says, “You do? Where are they?” I say, stirring a bit, “Oh, it’s my pillow.” We both laugh. Then the second night, same scenario, I say, “Help me take the boys to bed.” And he says, “They’re both here?” I said, “Oh, it’s my pillow.” We both laugh. But this time Asher felt around to make sure.

This story has made me laugh every time I think of it, because it is so real at the moment!!

The boys are 8 weeks old now and doing great. I think they had a growth spurt last week because we lost our long stretch at night and went back to 2-3 hours, exhausted again. You can see why I was delusional when Asher would come to bed… Last night was good again though, about 5.5 hours, hopefully we are back on track. They are so sweet and beautiful, and so tiring. We went to church and sat in the family room on Sunday, it was a sort of initiation in to “familydom.” Real life as parents=family room. I know that’s random.

6 thoughts on “You know you have twins when…

  1. Hilarious! I did the same thing with Ben and Abe only I would wake up and start throwing the covers and pillow because I couldn’t find them and I was afraid they were under a pillow. I can’t tell you how many times Jeremy would wake up to a crazy lady thrashing around in the bed. The boys were always fast asleep in their cribs too. Gotta love sleep deprivation!

  2. “… when it’s 2 in the afternoon and you’re walking around the house wearing a stretched out “wife-beater” shirt that is inside out and backwards from having been put on in the dark in the middle of the night..”

    ohh crap…you have to have twins to justify this action?!?!

Leave a Reply

